Major Duties

Ship management refers to the provision of various support services to vessels, so that vessels can be operated in compliance with the local and international regulations. Ship owners can either manage their vessels directly, or entrust professional ship management companies through contracts with the management of their vessels.

The ship management companies are responsible for recruiting the crew members required for the operation of vessels. Such crew members include Captains, Chief Engineers, other officers, ratings or seafarers, chefs, stewards, cadets, etc. The management companies must ensure that the crew members have already completed training which meets the international standards and obtained the respective certificates for their positions. Also, the management companies should guarantee that there are sufficient food reserves, fuels, engine oil and spare parts on board the vessels; and make certain that the Captains have the latest navigational chart and navigational data to sail to the destination ports, so as to ensure navigational safety.

For the sake of the safety of vessels and members on board, ship management companies should ensure that vessels have taken out the insurance necessary for operation, so that the vessels can enjoy insurance protection and receive compensation if they suffer damage, collide with other vessels, hit and damage piers, have cargoes damaged, or have sick or injured crew members. The ship management companies will also take out insurance against oil leakage incidents and subsequent clean-up actions.

Entry Requirements

There is no specific entry requirement for the ship management field. However, the management staff of ship management companies usually possess the qualifications to serve as a Captain.

主要工作

船舶管理是指為船隻提供各種支援服務,使船隻能在符合當地和國際規條的情況下營運。船東可直接管理船舶,或透過合約方式委託專業船舶管理公司代為管理。

船舶管理公司負責聘請操作船舶所需之船員隊伍,隊伍包括船長、輪機長、其他高級船員、普通船員或水手、廚師、管事及實習生等。管理公司必須確保他們已完成符合國際標準的培訓,並取得有關的職位證書。另外,管理公司還須保證船上有足夠的食物儲備、燃料、機油和配件,並且確保船長擁有駛往各目的港的最新海圖及航海數據等,以確保船舶航行安全。

為了船舶和船上人員的安全,船舶管理公司需確保船隻具備營運所需的各種保險,使船舶一旦遇上損壞、碰撞其他船隻、撞毀碼頭、貨損、船員生病或受傷時,均可獲得保障和賠償。此外,船舶管理公司亦會為船舶意外漏油事故及清理油污投保。

入職條件

船舶管理並沒有特定的入職條件,但船舶管理公司的管理階層通常需要持有船長資歷。